As I write this it has been a week and a few hours since the terrible earthquake in Haiti on Tuesday 12 January 2010.
Initially, many expressed concerns that spammers and other online scum would be out in force with donation scams and the like. For example, on 13 January the FBI issued this pre-emptive scam warning.
As has happened with many natural disasters and other high-profile news stories (such as celebrity deaths) in recent years, domain names clearly related to the incident were quickly registered. Joel Esler, working with others, reports that over 1100 Haiti-themed domains had been registered 13-15 January inclusive. What proportion of those were registered with ill-intent will never be entirely clear, but human nature being what it is, it is a good bet that not all of them were registered by folk with decent or humanitarian motives.
Within a day or two, several actual scams, asking for donations, were being reported. Perhaps the earliest, or at least the one that got the earliest media coverage I saw, was Email spam purporting to be from the UK Red Cross. I found a variant of this, dated a day or so after initial media reports, at 419eater.com:
(As an aside, it is interesting to compare this sample to other reports of this spam. There are some obviously deliberate changes, but also several subtle differences. Most of the latter appear to be of a kind that may be considered a "typo": Capitalization differences; occasional spelling mistakes either corrected or introduced; single spaces rather than multiple; other differences in the placement of spurious spaces; and so on. This suggests that the spamming behind these scams is at least partly manual with the spammers re-entering the copy, much as in the early days of multiple typewritten, carbon-paper copies of snail-mailed, paper-based, 419 scams. Perhaps these changes were introduced into this sample when the group behind this specific spam copied the Email above from earlier security company or media reports that included a screenshot of the original? Which raises the question - might this blog similarly be aiding the next gang to pick this up?)
Anyway, I subsequently received Haiti donation spam to one of my personal Email addresses (more on that in a moment) which indirectly led me to another spam also asking for Haiti donations. I did not receive that second spam as an Email message, but merely found an archived copy of the message body on a website. Received as Email, the message body would have looked something like this:
This spam requests donations for the reputed US charity Haiti Helping Hand through the website at www.haitihelpinghand.com (I don't advise you go there, just in case). Oddly, a charity with a Haiti-specific name "responded to Hurricane Katrina, New York post 9/11, Greensburg, Kansas after the tornado" and for extra effect "worldwide as well" (it was spammed after all, so presumably some non-US residents would also receive it) . At the time of receipt, until sometime late yesterday or early today, the website linked from this spam looked like this:
It is also odd that a charity that reputedly responded to 9/11 (recall that was 2001!) has a domain that was only registered two days after the 12 January 2010 Haiti earthquake. This is clearly seen in this extract from the domain's registration and whois data:
Domain Name: HAITIHELPINGHAND.COM
Registrar: GODADDY.COM, INC.
Whois Server: whois.godaddy.com
Referral URL: http://registrar.godaddy.com
Name Server: NS2233.HOSTGATOR.COM
Name Server: NS2234.HOSTGATOR.COM
Status: clientDeleteProhibited
Status: clientRenewProhibited
Status: clientTransferProhibited
Status: clientUpdateProhibited
Updated Date: 14-jan-2010
Creation Date: 14-jan-2010
Expiration Date: 14-jan-2011
Further, and especially odd for a US charity, this "charity" does not want you to know who they are or where they are located. As well as having neither "contact us" nor "about us" style pages on their website, they used Domains by Proxy to register their domain. Services providing such "anonymizing" functionality to domain registrants are particularly popular with the obviously criminal elements we see increasingly abusing the internet:
Registrant:
Domains by Proxy, Inc.
DomainsByProxy.com
15111 N. Hayden Rd., Ste 160, PMB 353
Scottsdale, Arizona 85260
United States
The webpage linked from the spam only has three components. There is rather scant information (unsubstantiable claims about the reputed charity's earlier work) and only two links, one to the site's privacy policy and one to a PayPal donation page. To the skeptical, the purpose of including only those two links is to boost the page's apparent authenticity. As many people are comfortable using PayPal, the unwary may even associate the good name and reputation of PayPal with this donation-seeking site. As a result, some people may be even more likely to donate than if the site had asked for donations via wire transfer, Western Union and so on.
Finally, both the Email spam and the web page claim that donations to Haiti Helping Hand are tax deductible. I discovered an Inland Revenue Service web page for checking the status of US tax deductible charities. This service can be a bit fiddly to use, as you may have to check each of the main, recently revoked and recent additions lists to find exactly what you need to know, but it is worth the effort.
Surprise, surprise - there is no current entry with a name anything like "Haiti Helping Hand"!
As I write this, the website no longer looks like the screenshot above. Apparently its hosting company has removed the site, but the domain is still registered and the folk behind the site can easily move it to another hosting service. Should it be reborn, avoid!
Above I mentioned another Haiti earthquake donation spam Email that I received. As this entry is already so long, I'll post the intriguing story behind that scam separately.
Share | |







